Florida’s Advocate for Long Term Care
Providers and the Elders They Serve

Florida Long Term Care Facilities Earn National Recognition for Quality Care

FHCA member facilities recognized with AHCA/NCAL 2012 National Quality Awards

CONTACT: Kristen Knapp, APR
(850) 701-3530 or (850) 510-4389 cell; kknapp@fhca.org

Thirty-eight FHCA member facilities will be recognized nationally in October for their extraordinary commitment to quality long term care as part of the American Health Care Association/National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) National Quality Awards program. Thirty-three facilities have earned Bronze Award status, with five facilities earning Silver Award status.

“Florida's long term care facilities have consistently demonstrated a great commitment to quality care, and we are proud of our members for earning this well-deserved national recognition,” says Emmett Reed, FHCA Executive Director.

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

The following facilities will be honored with National Quality Awards during the AHCA/NCAL Annual Convention in Tampa, FL, in October.

2012 Silver Award Recipients

  • Bay Breeze Nursing and Retirement Center, Gulf Breeze
  • Boynton Health Care Center, Boynton Beach
  • Palm Garden of Tampa
  • The Manor at Carpenters, Lakeland
  • UniHealth Post Acute Care of Santa Rosa, Milton 

2012 Bronze Award Recipients

  • Stratford Court Boca Raton, Boca Raton 
  • Whitehall Boca, Boca Raton
  • Greenbriar Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Bradenton
  • Sylvan Health Center, Clearwater
  • Clermont Health & Rehabilitation Center, Clermont 
  • Carlton Shores Health and Rehabilitation Center, Daytona Beach
  • University Center East, DeLand 
  • Winkler Court, Fort Myers
  • Wilton Manors Health and Rehabilitation Center, Ft. Lauderdale 
  • Windsor Woods Rehabilitation and Healthcare Center, Hudson 
  • Jupiter Medical Center Pavilion, Jupiter 
  • Lakeside Health Center, Jupiter 
  • Grace Healthcare of Lake Wales, Lake Wales 
  • Florida Presbyterian Homes, Inc., Lakeland 
  • Regal Palms Independent & Assisted Living, Largo 
  • Sabal Palms Health Care Center Largo, 
  • Lehigh Acres Health and Rehabilitation Center, Lehigh Acres 
  • Santa Rosa Health & Rehabilitation Center, Milton 
  • New Horizon Rehabilitation Center, Ocala 
  • Guardian Care Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, Orlando 
  • Bay Center, Panama City 
  • Village Place Health and Rehabilitation Center, Port Charlotte 
  • Healthcare & Rehab of Sanford, Sanford 
  • Alhambra Health and Rehabilitation Center, St Petersburg 
  • Lexington Health and Rehabilitation Center, St Petersburg 
  • North Rehabilitation Center, St Petersburg 
  • Martin Nursing and Restorative Care Center, Stuart 
  • Stuart Nursing and Restorative Care Center, Stuart 
  • Rehabilitation and Healthcare Center of Tampa, Tampa 
  • Fairway Oaks Center, Tampa 
  • Atlantic Healthcare Center, Vero Beach 
  • Rehabilitation Center of The Palm Beaches, West Palm Beach 
  • Whispering Oaks, Tampa

The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program consists of an entry level Bronze Award, a more rigorous Silver Award and a final Gold Award that mirrors the Baldrige National Quality Award criteria. The National Quality Awards are independently judged by a Board of Overseers, and the program includes 11 success factors that serve as a valuable framework and tool for facilities that are initiating a systems-based perspective to achieve sustainable levels of performance excellence. Recipient facilities have made quality outcomes and customer satisfaction top priorities. Bronze awardees developed solid vision and mission statements and an awareness of their environment and customers’ expectations.