Florida's Advocate for Long Term Care Providers and the Elders They Serve

News & Publications: Press Releases

34 FHCA Members Earn 2017 Bronze National Quality Award

Thirty-four Florida long term care providers have earned a 2017 Bronze - Commitment to Quality Award from the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). These centers were among 520 in 46 states earning the Bronze Award, which is the first of three distinctions possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which honors long term and post-acute care providers that have demonstrated their commitment to improving the quality of care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

“Florida’s long term care centers consistently rank among the best in the nation,” said Emmett Reed, FHCA Executive Director. “It is exciting that the American Health Care Association is recognizing these centers and their incredible staff for the wonderful work they do every day to guarantee our state’s elderly receive the highest quality care, which they expect and deserve.”

“Bronze award recipients advance our mission of improving lives by delivering solutions for quality care,” said Mark Parkinson, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL. “We applaud their efforts to enrich the lives of those in the long term and post-acute care communities we serve.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is also the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The Baldrige program helps organizations in different business sectors improve and achieve performance excellence.

The award program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with fundamental performance elements such as vision and mission statements and key strengths and challenges. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. Recipients may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver - Achievement in Quality Award. A full list of Florida recipients is below.

Alexander Sandy Nininger State Veterans' Nursing Home, Pembroke Pines
Brighton Gardens of Boca Raton, Boca Raton
Brooks Bartram Crossing, Jacksonville
Brooks Bartram Lakes, Jacksonville
Broward Nursing & Rehabilitation Center, Fort Lauderdale
Clifford Chester Sims State Veterans' Nursing Home, Panama City
Community Convalescent Center, Plant City
Consulate Health Care of Port Charlotte, Port Charlotte
Diamond Ridge Health and Rehab. Center, Lecanto
Douglas T. Jacobson State Veterans' Nursing Home, Port Charlotte
Emory L. Bennett State Veterans' Nursing Home, Daytona Beach
Evans Health Care Center, Fort Myers
Ft. Lauderdale Health & Rehab, Ft. Lauderdale
Glades West Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Miramar
Miami Jewish Hazel Cypen Tower, Miami
Northbrook Health and Rehabilitation Center, Brooksville
Northlake Care Center, Lake Park
Ocean View Nursing & Rehabilitation Center, LLC, New Smyrna Beach
Palmetto Care Center, Hialeah
Palms Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Lauderdale Lakes
Plantation Nursing & Rehabilitation Center, Plantation
Robert H. Jenkins, Jr. Veterans' Domiciliary Home of Florida, Lake City
Sandalwood Nursing Center, Daytona Beach
Sandy Ridge Health and Rehabilitation, Milton
Sinai Plaza Nursing & Rehab, Miami
Southern Oaks Care Center, Pensacola
Southern Lifestyle Senior Living Center, Lake Placid
Springtree Rehabilitation and Health Care Center, Sunrise
Stratford Court of Boca Raton, Boca Raton
Tamarac Rehabilitation & Health Center, Tamarac
Terraces of Lake Worth Care Center, Lake Worth
Tuscany Villa, Naples
University Plaza Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Miami
Villages Rehab and Nursing Center, Lady Lake

American Health Care Association will announce the 2017 Silver - Achievement in Quality and Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients in the coming months. The National Quality Award Program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members: First Quality, National Research Corporation, and Team TSI Corporation. The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL’s 68th Annual Convention and Exposition in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 15-18, 2017.