News & Publications: Press Releases

Florida Leads Nation with Highest Number (38) of Silver National Quality Awards

FHCA Member Centers Earn National Recognition for Best Practices in Quality Care

July 6, 2017
CONTACT: Kristen Knapp, APR
(850) 701-3530 or

(Tallahassee, FL) – An impressive 386 skilled nursing centers that are members of the Florida Health Care Association (FHCA) have earned national recognition for their extraordinary commitment to improving the lives of residents through quality care. The 38 outstanding Florida care centers were among 193 centers nationwide earning the 2017 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award from the American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). Florida now leads the nation in 2017 National Quality Awards, with today’s 38 Silver Award recipient announcement and 34 Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award recipients announced in June. The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program spotlights centers across the country that have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality care for seniors and individuals with disabilities.

“Florida’s long term care providers are committed to striving for quality excellence when it comes to the care they deliver,” said Emmett Reed, FHCA Executive Director. “We’re extremely proud that 38 member centers and their staff are being recognized by the American Health Care Association for their dedication to ensuring Florida’s frail elders receive exceptional care every day.

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

“Silver award recipients are champions of performance excellence and quality health care outcomes,” said AHCA/NCAL President and CEO Mark Parkinson. “I commend their dedication to delivering solutions for quality care to the populations we serve.”

Based on the core values and criteria of the nationally recognized Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is also the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative, the Association’s Quality Award program challenges member providers to achieve performance excellence through three progressive levels—Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Members at the Silver award level develop and demonstrate effective approaches that help improve performance and quality outcomes.

Florida’s 2017 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award recipients include:

Adventist Care Center Courtland, Orlando
Bayside Health and Rehab, Pensacola
Chautauqua Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, DeFuniak Springs
Citrus Hills Health & Rehabilitation Center, Hernando
Commons at Orlando Lutheran Towers, Orlando
East Orlando Health & Rehab Center, Inc., Orlando
Grand Boulevard Health and Rehabilitation Center, Miramar Beach
Hialeah Shores Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, Miami
Hunters Creek Nursing and Rehab Center, Orlando
Lake Mary Health and Rehabilitation Center, Lake Mary
Life Care Center of Melbourne, Melbourne
Life Care Center of Palm Bay
Longwood Health and Rehabilitation Center, Longwood
North Rehabilitation Center, St. Petersburg
Okeechobee Health Care Facility, Okeechobee
Opis Island Lake Center, Longwood
Orange City Nursing and Rehab Center, DeBary
Orchard Ridge, Genesis Healthcare, New Port Richey
Palm Garden of Clearwater, Clearwater
Palm Garden of Largo, Largo
Palm Garden of Ocala, Ocala
Palm Garden of Pinellas, Largo
Palm Garden Sun City, Sun City Center
Panama City Health and Rehabilitation, Panama City
Park Summit, Coral Springs
Sabal Palms Healthcare Center, Largo
Signature HealthCARE at The Courtyard, Marianna
Sunset Lake Health and Rehabilitation Center, Venice
The Forum at Deer Creek, Deerfield Beach
The Lodge Health and Rehabilitation Center, Ocala
The Rehabilitation Center of Winter Park, Maitland
The Rohr Home, Bartow
Wavecrest Health and Rehabilitation Center, Melbourne
West Bay Center of Tampa, Oldsmar
West Gables Health Care Center, Miami
Westchester Gardens Rehabilitation Care Center, Clearwater
Whispering Oaks, Tampa
Wood Lake Nursing and Rehabilitation, West Palm Beach

The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program is sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Members: First Quality, National Research Corporation, and Team TSI Corporation. The awards will be presented to recipients during AHCA/NCAL’s 68th Annual Convention & Expo in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 15-18, 2017.


Florida Health Care Association (FHCA) is a federation that serves nearly 1,000 members and represents over 500 long term care facilities providing skilled nursing, post-acute and sub-acute care, short-term rehab, assisted living and other services to the frail elderly and individuals with disabilities in Florida. The mission of FHCA is to advance the quality of services, image, professional development and financial stability of its members. As Florida's first and largest advocacy organization for long term care providers and the elders they serve, the Association has worked diligently since 1954 to assist its members with continuously improving quality of care and quality of life for the state’s growing elder care population. For more information about the Florida Health Care Association, visit

# # #