News & Publications: Press Releases

37 Florida Long Term Care Centers Recognized Nationally for Commitment to Quality Care

31 Skilled Nursing Centers and 6 Assisted Living Facilities Earn AHCA/NCAL Bronze National Quality Award

An impressive 37 long term care centers that are members of the Florida Health Care Association (FHCA) have earned national recognition for their commitment to improving the lives of residents through quality care. The 37 members – 31 skilled nursing centers and 6 assisted living facilities (ALFs) – were among 590 long term and post-acute care providers in 48 states to be recognized with a 2019 Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). The award is the first of three distinctions possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which honors long term and post-acute care providers that have demonstrated their commitment to improving the quality of care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

“Florida continues to be a national leader in delivering high-quality care. This Bronze Award achievement by our member centers exemplifies the commitment of the thousands of caregivers who are dedicated to ensuring Florida’s frail elders receive exceptional care every day, and we’re proud to honor them” said Emmett Reed, FHCA Executive Director.

The following Florida centers earned the 2019 AHCA/NCAL Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award:

Skilled Nursing Centers

  • Bradenton Health Care, Bradenton
  • Carrollwood Care Center, Tampa
  • Casa Mora Rehabilitation and Extended Care, Bradenton
  • Central Park Health & Rehabilitation, Brandon
  • Clearwater Center, Clearwater
  • Colonial Lakes Health Care, Winter Garden
  • Consulate Health Care at Safety Harbor, Safety Harbor
  • Consulate Health Care at West Altamonte Springs, Altamonte Springs
  • Consulate Health Care of New Port Richey, New Port Richey
  • Covenant Village Care Center, Plantation
  • DeSoto Health and Rehab, Arcadia
  • Emerald Coast Center, Fort Walton Beach
  • Floridean Nursing Home, Miami
  • Franco Nursing & Rehabilitation Center, Miami
  • Heartland Healthcare Center Boynton Beach, Boynton Beach
  • Heritage Park Rehabilitation and Health Center, Fort Myers
  • Heron Pointe Health & Rehabilitation, Brooksville
  • Kissimmee Good Samaritan Manor, Kissimmee
  • Ocala Rehabilitation & Healthcare Center, Ocala
  • Opis Bayview Center, Eustis
  • Opis Tierra Pines Center, Largo
  • Riviera Health Resort, Coral Gables
  • Samantha R. Wilson Care Center at Bayview, St Augustine
  • Sarasota Health & Rehabilitation Center, Sarasota
  • Spring Hill Health & Rehab, Brooksville
  • Sunset Point Rehab & Nursing Center, Clearwater
  • The Atrium Health Center, Jacksonville
  • The Palms Rehabilitation & Healthcare Center, Palm Bay
  • The Waterford Health Care Center, Juno Beach
  • Winter Haven Health & Rehabilitation Center, Winter Haven
  • Ybor City Healthcare & Rehab Center, Tampa

Assisted Living Facilities

  • Cypress Palms ALF, Largo
  • Regal Palms, Largo
  • Sylvan Terrace, Clearwater
  • Terracina Grand, Naples
  • The Residence at Timber Pines, Spring Hill
  • Windsor Place at Orlando Lutheran Towers, Orlando

“The recipients of the Bronze award are making it their mission to deliver quality care for our nation’s elders and individuals with disabilities,” said Mark Parkinson, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL. “This year, we have more Bronze recipients than ever before, and I’m convinced that because of their commitment, our profession will continue to grow stronger and make a national impact.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is also the basis of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The Baldrige program helps organizations across different business sectors use strategies to improve performance and organizational effectiveness.

The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they assess their organization’s mission, vision, and key factors that lead to success. They also develop an organizational profile and must demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained examiners review each application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. Bronze recipients may move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the AHCA/NCAL Silver – Achievement in Quality Award.

AHCA/NCAL will announce the 2019 Silver – Achievement in Quality and Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients in the coming months. Florida Health Care Association will honor Florida’s 2019 National Quality Award recipients during its Annual Conference & Trade Show, August 4-8, 2019, at the Hyatt Regency Orlando. Florida recipient organizations will then join centers across the country to be formally honored during AHCA/NCAL’s 70th Convention & Expo, October 13-16, which also takes place in Orlando.

# # #

Kristen Knapp, APR
(850) 701-3530 or