Florida’s Advocate for Long Term Care
Providers and the Elders They Serve
Back to Press Releases

FHCA Member Centers Lead Nation with Most Silver National Quality Awards

Florida Long Term Care Providers Earn National Recognition for Best Practices in Quality Care

July 8, 2015
CONTACT: Kristen Knapp, APR
(850) 701-3530 or kknapp@fhca.org

(Tallahassee, FL) – An impressive 29 long term care centers that are members of the Florida Health Care Association have earned national recognition for their extraordinary commitment to improving the lives of residents through quality care. The 29 outstanding Florida centers earning the 2015 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award from the American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) is the largest statewide total in the nation. The National Quality Award Program spotlights centers across the country that have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality care for seniors and individuals with disabilities.

“Florida’s long term care providers are committed to striving for quality excellence when it comes to the care they deliver,” said Emmett Reed, FHCA Executive Director. “We’re extremely proud that 29 member centers and their dedicated staff are being recognized by the American Health Care Association for their dedication to ensuring Florida’s frail elders receive exceptional care every day.

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Centers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level and must receive an award at each level before proceeding to the next. Twenty-nine centers in Florida are recipients of the 2015 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award and 51 centers are recipients of the 2015 Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award, which were announced in June.  Applicants at the Bronze level must demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. At the Silver level, applicants demonstrate systematic advancements in quality, plans for continual improvement, and sustainable organizational goals. Recipients of the 2015 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award, which requires them to address the Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence in its entirety.

Florida’s Quality Award recipients will be honored for their achievement during the FHCA 2015 Annual Conference, to be held in Orlando in August. Additionally, these Florida centers will be honored along with all national recipients during the AHCA/NCAL’s 66th Annual Convention and Exposition in San Antonio, TX, in October.

Florida’s 2015 Silver Quality Award recipients (alphabetical order):

•    Arcadia Health and Rehabilitation Center, Pensacola
•    Bayshore Pointe Nursing and Rehab Center, Tampa
•    Bayview Center, Eustis
•    Bradenton Health Care, Bradenton
•    Chipola Health and Rehabilitation Center, Marianna
•    Consulate of Safety Harbor, Safety harbor
•    Consulate Health Care of Bayonet Point, Hudson
•    CountrySide Lakes, Port Orange
•    Evergreen Woods Health and Rehab, Spring Hill
•    Greenbriar Rehabilitation and Nursing Center, Bradenton
•    Heritage Park Health & Rehabilitation, Dade City
•    Lake Placid Health and Rehabilitation, Lake Placid
•    Lake Eustis Health and Rehabilitation, Eustis
•    Life Care Center of Pensacola, Pensacola
•    Life Care Center of Ocala, Ocala
•    Margate Health and Rehabilitation Center, Margate
•    Miami Shores Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, Miami
•    Oakbridge Health Care Center, Lakeland
•    Oakbrook Health and Rehabilitation Center, LaBelle
•    Oaks of Kissimmee Health and Rehabilitation Center, Kissimmee
•    Plantation Bay Rehabilitation Center, St. Cloud
•    RiverChase Care Center, Quincy
•    Riverwood Center, Jacksonville
•    Rosewood Healthcare & Rehab Center, Pensacola
•    Royal Palm Beach Health and Rehabilitation Center, Royal Palm Beach
•    Salerno Bay Health and Rehab, Stuart
•    Specialty Health & Rehabilitation Center, Pensacola
•    The Fountains Nursing Home, Boca Raton
•    Valencia Hills Health and Rehabilitation Center, Lakeland

Florida Health Care Association (FHCA) is a federation that serves almost 1,000 members and represents more than 500 long term care centers that provide skilled nursing, post-acute and sub-acute care, short-term rehab, assisted living and other services to the frail elderly and individuals with disabilities in Florida. The mission of FHCA is to advance the quality of services, image, professional development and financial stability of its members. As Florida's first and largest advocacy organization for long term care providers and the elderly they serve, the Association has worked diligently since 1954 to assist its members with continuously improving quality of care and quality of life for the state’s growing elder care population. For more information about Florida Health Care Association, visit http://www.fhca.org. ;  

#   #   #